Suspension ideas for better ride quality discussion

everything but the drivetrain

Moderators: Greenleaf, BC847, Richie O

Suspension ideas for better ride quality discussion

Postby toyota231 » Sun Mar 16, 2014 2:17 pm

Well ive had a lot of time to sit around and thinking while im waiting on our baby to make her debut. Im trying to figure out a good suspension design for the rear of my truck and then possibly the front. Me and a buddy were studying his peterbilt's suspension and were throwing around ideas so I thought I'd throw them out here and get some opinions. Im looking for an air bag suspension and being a truck driver I know how well some of those designs work.

Ive got three designs im thinking of, well close to the designs.

1st is the pete low air leaf design. The biggest problem i see is the spring extended as a bag mount

Next is the same design but a different axle bag mount

The third is a Volvo/Mack design thats new. Basically a link design with bags, almost like a newer superduty front suspension.

Im thinking in can do any of these for less than $400. I can get most of the parts like bags, and air lines, and stuff for all the air setup cheap off of salvage big trucks. I just know these suspensions handle 80,000 pounds with 4 bags so it should handle my truck easily, plus the easy adjustability of air bags for ride control. Discussion away.
toyota231
fuel screw!!!!

Re: Suspension ideas for better ride quality discussion

Postby mknittle » Sun Mar 16, 2014 2:42 pm

My dad built a set up like the second one That is a miniature copy of the Peterbilt air leaf on his 89 W250. it works pretty good. And looks cool. what he did was cut the stock rear springs and fabracated the perches where the bags sit. I will post som pictures as soon as I can get them.

And a big congratulations on the baby!!! :alien: :alien: :alien:
mknittle
fuel pin?

Postby toyota231 » Sun Mar 16, 2014 3:08 pm