Flexplate/ Converter Clearance Twatwaffles

How they work, how they don't work, and how to fix them

Moderators: Greenleaf, BC847, Richie O

Flexplate/ Converter Clearance Twatwaffles

Postby Begle1 » Sun Apr 07, 2013 3:43 pm

So while I was replacing my band apply lever in my transmission, I installed the "SFI rated double-thick flexplate" from CAT/ PATC that I've been lugging around for the past 5 years.

Which has led me to having two critical questions:

1. How should one align the flexplate to the crankshaft? The directions talk about pressing tangs in or out to better grip the crankshaft, which I attempted to do until it became clear that the geometry of the tangs wasn't going to grip the crankshaft no matter how I pressed them.

2. If after installing the flexplate one was to realize that there was no clearance between the torque converter and flexplate, and the two were all pushed together, what would be the remedy to the situation?
1990 D-250 Regular Cab: Tweaked injection pump, built transmission, a cataclysmic charlie foxtrot of electronics, the most intense street-ran water injection system in the country, and some more unique stuff.
Begle1
14mm rotor

Re: Flexplate/ Converter Clearance Twatwaffles

Postby PToombs » Sun Apr 07, 2013 3:50 pm

I'm pretty sure the flexplate goes on any old whichaway, just torque it down. As for the clearance, double check the converter is all the way into the trans. Or measure the thickness difference of the plates and see if that's how much is lacking. If the new one is that much thicker, you may have a problem. I'm not familiar with the thicker flexplates, but if you can't spin the converter freely after the trans is in, you have a problem.
pete

Just enough power to break everything behind the crankshaft.
PToombs
14mm rotor

Postby dazedandconfused » Sun Apr 07, 2013 4:45 pm

Sounds like you didn't get the convertor seated all the way.
Big Andy