Torque Converters.... which one.

How they work, how they don't work, and how to fix them

Moderators: Greenleaf, BC847, Richie O

Torque Converters.... which one.

Postby 2muchtq » Sun Nov 18, 2007 9:47 pm

I am getting the parts together to follow BC's thread on reBUILDING my tranny. I have a buildable core that I am going to take my time on... so doing it right wont step aside due to me needing my truck running.

I have a quesiton on converters. I can get a Dunrite for a deal.

I have NO experience with these converters for the first gen. I know the Dunrite builds that Rip does holds PLENTY of power... I am just curious if anyone knows how 'tight' these converters are.

I have owned an 89% DTT and it was plenty loose to spool at the line. But this was a lockup converter (95RH tranny)

Unk has a 91% in his full DTT and I LOVE the way it works... just do not want to spend the coin on a 91DTT converter.

So... long winded post aside. Anyone have experience with different converters?

Anyone running a converter that they would reccomend for 400+ HP?

Thanks everyone
Mark
2muchtq
fuel screw!!!!

Postby JD730 » Mon Nov 19, 2007 5:18 am

I have a Goerend 3 disc. Thats the only one I've ever run so I don't have anything to compare to.

If you want to put power down I would look for a lockup style core to rebuild. No matter how tight you make the fluid coupling its still not 100%.
Mike
Thats not a leak, its the external lubrication system.
The "Rattle Box"
93 W250 Silver Club Cab, few tweaks here and there.
John Deere Two Cylinders, too many to list.
JD730
fuel screw!!!!

Postby BC847 » Wed Nov 21, 2007 12:27 am