A518 external cooler

How they work, how they don't work, and how to fix them

Moderators: Greenleaf, BC847, Richie O

A518 external cooler

Postby mrc » Sat Apr 02, 2016 7:10 pm

My w350 has what looks like a dealer mounted transmission cooler under the bed on driver's side. I followed the hoses and looks like someone plugged them with a bolt and piped everything from the transmission together, there's even some metal water pipe on the passenger side that just attaches the lines to each other. Can't figure it out why someone would have disconnected it. The piping that comes from the tranny ends somewhere near the radiator, guessing there's a little trans radiator there.
I'd like to take it all apart and clean up the leaks, trans was almost 3 quarts low.
Would like to plumb it all back together, where could I find info on something like that? I'm by no means a great mechanic, but seems like it would be simple to hook it back up.
Is it trans fluid running through the system or some coolant?
Any help would be appreciated. Oh and how do we post pictures?
92 W350 flatbed with duels, club cab, stock engine, automatic (for now), 4" exhaust, air bags
mrc
fuel screw!!!!

Re: A518 external cooler

Postby Philip » Sat Apr 02, 2016 8:38 pm

That cooler on the side of the engine is a liquid to liquid cooler. That is the main cooler for the trans.

There is a smaller one behind the grille on the driver side. It is a air to liquid cooler. It is small so it can't do the job by itself.

The one under the bed is a dealer installed option. If it is bypassed it might be leaking. I would hook it up and find out.

On the leaks if you have a cracked line. Just braze it up and reinstall. Then bend it clear of the rub point. Rubbing has been a problem on these trucks. I have seen few of them that didn't have repaired lines.
93 W350 Club/cab w/duals, buckets & console, B&W flatbed, G56, 6 spd, 3:07 rears, gages, HX40/16, 4" exhaust, 6X.018 sticks, rear air ride suspension
Philip
14mm rotor