Well, I started some body work...

both inside and out

Moderators: Greenleaf, BC847, Richie O

Well, I started some body work...

Postby cmann250 » Sun Apr 01, 2012 1:18 pm

I started and thats about it. I thought I'd start a thread to ask all my complete newb questions. I have the classic surface rust everywhere because the paint peeled off. It's also rusted through above both rear wheel wells, both rockers are gone, there is a rust through behind the passenger front wheel, and there's a big dent in front of the rear wheel on the passenger side of the bed. I'll try to get some pics up, for the sake of before and after.

I picked up a self etching primer for the really bad spots. So how much of this surface rust do I need to get off, using that primer?

Also, I have no intentions to make this a show quality paint job. I just don't have the skills, time, or money. My idea of a good paint job is one that keeps the rust away for 15 of 20 years. If it turns out good, I'll be thrilled 8)
Caleb, Certified Shade Tree Mechanic Extraordinaire :mrgreen:
The 1stgen.org black sheep

"Whatever!" - Coach Jerry Smith
cmann250
14mm rotor

Re: Well, I started some body work...

Postby PToombs » Sun Apr 01, 2012 3:06 pm

Is the paint still peeling off? If so, you need to sand it ALL off. Otherwise, it will keep peeling after the new paint is on. When these trucks were made, they didn't use UV resistant primer or paint, only the clear coat. So when that was gone the UV attacked the paint and primer and broke the bond between the 2. That's why it peels off and leaves the primer on.
You should get all the rust off you can. I usually use a metal prep of some kind to kill the rust, it seems to help.
pete

Just enough power to break everything behind the crankshaft.
PToombs
14mm rotor

Postby cmann250 » Sun Apr 01, 2012 3:18 pm